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Digital Marketer’s Guidebook to Google Ads for Beginners

Digital Marketer’s Guidebook to Google Ads for Beginners

Digital marketing helps businesses promote a product or service with ease. The online marketing domain offers many ways to do that. There is content, email, and social media marketing. One of these is the famous Google Adwords, presently known as Google Ads.

Do you want to become a Google Ad master? Want the target audience to buy from the brand which your ads promote? This guidebook is for you.

Let us first start from the basics.

What are Google Ads?

Google Ads is a paid online advertising platform. It comes under the marketing channel known as PPC (Pay-Per-Click). You as an advertiser pay per click or impression on the advertisement.

With Google Ads, it becomes easy for you to drive quality traffic to a business. In the long run, this helps you convert a prospect into permanent customers of the brand. Google Ads let you create and share well-timed ads with the target audience.

It makes it easier for a business to appear on the SERPs when the target audience looks for a product or service. Google Ads makes it easier for you to connect with the target audience.

But, do you know how Google Ads works? The information below has the answer.

How Does Google Ads Work?

As stated above, Google Ads falls under the PPC model. It means you have to target specific keywords and make bids on the same. It gives you an edge over the competitor who might be bidding on the same keyword.

Want to know how this works? Pay attention.

For example, if your bid for a keyword is $4 and Google determines the CPC (Cost-Per-Click) is $2, you get the ad placement. But, if Google determines the keyword to be more than $4 then you do not get the placement.

Now, when you bid on Google as an online marketer, you have three options:

  1. CPC (Cost-Per-Click)

How much do you pay when a user clicks on the ad?

  1. CPM (Cost-Per-Mille)

How much you pay per 1000 ad impressions?

  1. CPE (Cost-Per-Engagement)

How much do you pay when the user performs a specific action on your ad?

Google takes the bid amount and combines it with an assessment of your ad, which forms the Quality Score.

Quality Score is an estimate of the quality of your Google Ads, keywords, and landing pages. High-quality ads lead to lower prices and better ad positions. The score ranges from 1 to 10 where 10 is the highest score.

The higher the score, the better it ranks, and the less you have to spend on converting. The Quality Score in combination with the bid amount creates the Ad Rank.

Ad Rank is the position your ad will appear on the search engine results page. When the user will see that ad and click on it, you as a marketer pay a small fee for that click.

The main idea here is the more users click on your Google Ads, the more likely they are to become a lead and purchase from you.

But, there is a question that comes to the minds of many online advertisers –

Why Should I Advertise on Google?

Google is the first choice of search engine around the world. It receives a whopping 5 billion queries from around the world in a day. The Google Ads platform is not new, it has been around for more than two decades. So, when it comes to the domain of online advertising, Google Ads is the master.

Add to that, there are different types of Google advertisements you can choose from. Do you know about the different types of Google Ads? It is time we take a look.

Types of Google Ads

Google has different types of campaigns based on your requirement. These include:

  1. Search Campaign

The search campaign Google Ads appears as a text ad on the results page for the keyword. These are the most common online advertisements you come across on the internet. They usually appear with a black-colored “Ad” symbol next to the URL.

  1. Shopping Campaign

The Shopping campaign ads allow you to promote a product more visually. These advertisements appear as images on the search results page. Using Google Shopping Ads is a good way to get leads by showcasing the product to the target audience.

  1. Display Campaign

The Display campaign ads leverage Google’s past website partners. These showcase your ads on different websites all over the internet. These appear in different ways. Firstly, these can appear on third-party websites.

Google also lets you advertise on Gmail. Lastly, you can also make the ad appear in third-party apps on the Google Apps network. A major benefit of using Google display campaign ads is their reach.

  1. Video Campaign

Video campaign Google Ads appear in front of YouTube videos in the form of pre-rolls. Google offers you the option to choose video ads. Video ads come in a variety of different forms. These are skippable video ads and unskippable video ads. You also have discovery ads which you can find on the search results of specific keywords.

  1. App Campaign

Same as video ads, App campaign ads fall under the display campaign category. These help you execute an online marketing campaign targeting a specific audience. All you need to do is provide the text and photos and Google will take care of the rest.

Now, the best way to get your brand noticed on Google Ads is to follow a few simple practices.

Tips for Success in Google Ads Campaign

Do you want the target audience to notice your brand and do a purchase? Put the tips below into practice when creating Google ads.

  1. Avoid Broad Keyword Terms

When it comes to choosing keywords you have to nail it. It is why testing should be a major part of your online advertisement campaign. Broad keywords will make Google place ads in front of the wrong audience which is not a good thing. Make sure the keywords match the type of ad you want to create.

  1. Never Run Irrelevant Ads

If the online advertisement does not match what the user is looking for, they would never click on it. The headline and copy of your Google ads have to match the keywords you want to bid on.

  1. Improve the Quality Score

The Quality Score is how Google determines how your ad should rank. The higher the rank, the better the ad placement. But, a low Quality Score means a few users would notice your ad and even less the chance they would convert.

  1. Optimize the Landing Page

Do not stop your efforts with the ad. Providing a good experience to the user after they click on the ad is important. Your landing page has to solve the query of the target audience. There should not be any hurdle in how the prospect converts into a lead.


nline advertisement is a tricky affair. It does not mean you should give up all hope. The guidebook described above will help you understand everything about Google Ads with ease.

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